WWW Wednesday | August 26, 2020

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words, and the purpose is to share what I’ve been reading most recently.
The three W’s are:
What did you recently finish reading?
What are you currently reading?
What are you going to read next?


Recently read

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle (🌟🌟🌟🌟)

At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed–again. She’s been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend–but nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.

I’ve been meaning to get to this one for quite some time! I initially thought this was a mystery novel, but it’s more of a mystery/thriller leaning into paranormal, which is a mix of genres I’ve never tried before, and it was just so different from what I usually read! The feel of the book is somewhat reminiscent of Agatha Christie, and it was the most intriguing mystery I’ve come across in a while.
Check out my full review here.


Currently reading

The Night Portrait – Laura Morelli

Milan, 1492: When a 16-year old beauty becomes the mistress of the Duke of Milan, she must fight for her place in the palace—and against those who want her out. Soon, she finds herself sitting before Leonardo da Vinci, who wants to ensure his own place in the ducal palace by painting his most ambitious portrait to date.

Munich, World War II: After a modest conservator unwittingly places a priceless Italian Renaissance portrait into the hands of a high-ranking Nazi leader, she risks her life to recover it, working with an American soldier, part of the famed Monuments Men team, to get it back. 

Two women, separated by 500 years, are swept up in the tide of history as one painting stands at the center of their quests for their own destinies.


Up next

The Faithless Hawk (The Merciful Crow #2) – Margaret Owen

As the new chieftain of the Crows, Fie knows better than to expect a royal to keep his word. Still she?s hopeful that Prince Jasimir will fulfill his oath to protect her fellow Crows. But then black smoke fills the sky, signaling the death of King Surimir and the beginning of Queen Rhusana’s ruthless bid for the throne.

Queen Rhusana wins popular support by waging a brutal campaign against the Crows, blaming them for the poisonous plague that wracks the nation.

A desperate Fie clings onto a prophecy that a long-forgotten god will return and provide a cure to the plague. Fie must team up with old friends? and an old flame? to track down a dead god and save her people.


What are you reading this week? Let me know in the comments below!


2 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday | August 26, 2020

  1. Alex @pareads August 26, 2020 / 10:28 am

    The WP community has finally convinced me to read The Merciful Crow and I have it coming in a bookoutlet order! I hope you like the 2nd book. I’ve also seen Evelyn Hardcastle everwhere lately, I might check out that book too. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s