Most Anticipated Books | June 2022

My June TBR this year is a rather short one, but I’m hoping to catch up on the ridiculously large backlog that I managed to accumulate last month thanks to my impromptu travel plans. It’s another varied collection of titles this month, and includes three sequels I’ve been super excited to get to all year!


June 7th

Before Takeoff – Adi Alsaid

James and Michelle find themselves in the Atlanta airport on a layover. They couldn’t be more different, but seemingly interminable delays draw them both to a mysterious flashing green light – and each other.

Where James is passive, Michelle is anything but. And she quickly discovers that the flashing green light is actually…a button. Which she presses. Which may or may not unwittingly break the rules of the universe – at least as those rules apply to Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta.

Before they can figure up from down, strange, impossible things start happening: snowstorms form inside the B terminal; jungles sprout up in the C terminal; and earthquakes split the ground apart in between. And no matter how hard they try, it seems no one can find a way in or out of the airport. James and Michelle team up to find their families and either escape the airport, or put an end to its chaos – before it’s too late.


Rise of the Snake Goddess (Samantha Knox #2) – Jenny Elder Moke

Sam Knox’s second adventure takes her to the island of Crete, just off the coast of Greece, where she discovers the ancient Snake Goddess’s golden girdle in the depths of a cave shrine that has been buried for decades. After having been belittled by her archaeology professor throughout her first college semester, Sam knows this triumph will prove her worth in the field, but before she can take credit for the find, the girdle is stolen and the island is hit with a series of earthquakes that don’t feel quite geological.

Soon Sam, Bennett and Jo are embroiled in a wild hunt – one that takes them to tiny island shops, a glamorous auction party and a near fiery death – to find the girdle before someone can use it to raise an ancient goddess from her slumber. The final battle features gryphons, a labyrinth, the minotaur of legend and lots of snakes. Lots.

June 14th

Daughters of the Dawn (Ria and Rani #2) – Sasha & Sarena Nanua

The powerful Bloodstone is in dangerous hands. And a deadly new threat rises.

Ria and Rani have barely settled into their new lives at the palace – as princesses, as sisters – when a sinister prophecy uproots them once more.

The Blood Moon will rise in one month’s time, and with it their enemy Amara’s opportunity to destroy everything Ria and Rani hold dear.

The twin princesses must find Amara – a deadly search that separates Ria and Rani once more and takes them to wintry kingdoms and scorching deserts, pitting them against ancient mysteries and trap-ridden labyrinths, lethal sea monsters and an elusive enemy that steals into their very dreams.

June 28th

Blade Breaker (Realm Breaker #2) – Victoria Aveyard

Andry, a former squire, continues to fight for hope amid blood and chaos.

Dom, a grieving immortal, strives to fulfill a broken oath.

Sorasa, an outcast assassin, faces her past when it returns with sharpened teeth.

Valtik, an old sorceress, summons a mighty power.

And Corayne, a pirate’s daughter with an ancient magic in her blood, steps closer to becoming the hero she’s destined to be.

Together they must assemble an army to face Queen Erida and Taristan’s wicked forces. But something deadly waits in the shadows, something that might consume the world before there’s any hope for victory.


Katzenjammer – Francesca Zappia

From acclaimed author Francesca Zappia, American Horror Story meets the dark comedy of Kafka’s The Metamorphosis as Cat searches for a way to escape her high school. Katzenjammer is a tale of family, love, tragedy, and masks – the ones others make for us, and the ones we make for ourselves. Eerie and thought-provoking, this novel will haunt fans of Chelsie Pitcher’s This Lie Will Kill You and E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars. Features illustrations by the author throughout.

Cat lives in her high school. She never leaves, and for a long time her school has provided her with everything she needs. But now things are changing. The hallways contract and expand along with the school’s breathing, and the showers in the bathroom run a bloody red. Cat’s best friend is slowly turning into cardboard, and instead of a face, Cat has a cat mask made of her own hardened flesh.

Cat doesn’t remember why she is trapped in her school or why half of them – Cat included – are slowly transforming. Escaping has always been the one impossibility in her school’s upside-down world. But to save herself from the eventual self-destruction all the students face, Cat must find the way out. And to do that, she’ll have to remember what put her there in the first place.

Told in chapters alternating between the past and the present, Francesca Zappia weaves a spine-tingling, suspenseful, and haunting story about tragedy and the power of memories. Much like the acclaimed Eliza and Her Monsters, Katzenjammer features black-and-white illustrations by the author throughout the novel. Fans of Marieke Nijkamp’s This Is Where It Ends and Karen McManus’s One of Us Is Lying will lose themselves in the pages of this novel – or maybe in the treacherous hallways of the school.


Are any of these books on your June TBR? Let me know in the comments below!


12 thoughts on “Most Anticipated Books | June 2022

  1. Fransic verso June 2, 2022 / 8:08 am

    These awesome books and I’m interested in how the horror book will be. I will be on the lookout for that. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raji (@journeyintofantasy) June 19, 2022 / 11:55 am

      Thanks for reading! Katzenjammer was possibly the weirdest book I’ve ever read, but still really interesting!

      Like

  2. Dating Bitch June 2, 2022 / 10:00 am

    Before Takeoff looks like an interesting book. I haven’t heard of it, but the premise drew me in. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. readandreviewit1 June 2, 2022 / 2:07 pm

    Ooh you’ve got a great selection here! Before Takeoff is one of my most anticipated releases too and I hadn’t heard of Blade Breaker before but I’ve added it to my tbr. Thank you so much for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Rocking Specter June 2, 2022 / 8:47 pm

    These sound like promising books. Let’s see what happens in Blade Breaker, the sequel to Realm Breaker.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s